PMC Final Crit

Here’s 95% of my PMC jewelry, set up for our final critique on Monday.  (2 pieces were still in the tumbler getting shiny and beautiful at the time of these photos.)

Many of the pendants I made had jump rings or double wire wrapped loops to enable me to hook the chain to the front… I outfitted 2 chains with little wire wrapped “bra-type” hooks I made so that there is no closure to try to work blindly at the back of your neck, and nothing back there to eventually rotate around to the front.

At the time of this picture, I had not yet dipped the knitted earrings into liver of sulfer, so they’re still bright and shiny, but I have since treated them and now it’s a lovely matching set.

 

This piece was inspired by a photograph by Karl Blossfeldt, and is strung up with rutilated quartz and neat little peanut-shaped beads that fit together in an interesting manner.  I still need to get a yo-yo or channel bead on which to attach the pendant so it sits nicely and looks more professional.

 

 

The pendant was inspired by this photograph, and was created using bronze wire mesh that I accordion folded and coated with 30+ layers of PMC silver slip.  After I was satisfied with the thickness, I added the leaf and vine / bail portions with PMC silver clay.

 

This is my sage leaf set, which I know I will wear a lot.  I created a Sculpey clay mold with a sage leaf from my deck rail planters herb garden and used it over and over to make the silver beads and pendant.  There are also 2 matching rings in the next picture.  I am especially proud of the bracelet, because I tried at least 3 wire wrapping and jump ring hinge methods before finding one that I liked, that kept the bracelet lying flat on my wrist (instead of flipping to the back), and did not detract from the leaves.

 

I had a great time (and quite a challenge) with these rings, partly because I never wear wore rings and wanted something comfortable and not huge.  From top to bottom: super thin sage ring, ring with a ruby earring embedded in it (and yes, that’s my fingerprint in the disc of clay, and yes, I put it there intentionally), super narrow sage ring, wide thin ring with lino-cut swirls I designed and cut, and knot ring with a diamond earring embedded in it.  I especially love the last one, partly because it has a diamond, but mostly because of how I made it.  It was my first experiment with making a ring from a coil of clay (instead of rolling it out to an even thickness) and it’s super comfortable.  Also, later in the class I played with hiding the join on the rings (like I did first with the ruby ring).  Instead of the join being on the underside of your finger, where it can eventually rotate around to the front, with the gemstone rings I was able to hide the join under or around the stone, so the back looks just as good as the front.

I’ll definitely be doing some more PMC jewelry in the future, as funds allow me to purchase more clay!

Leave a Reply

