Meyer Lemon Squares

I love a good lemon square, and have spent quite a bit of time perfecting various recipes to create the perfect rendition.  I’ve come close in the past, but today I tried a brand-new recipe I found with a different “base” for the filling than in previous attempts.  I also used my Meyer lemon from my little lemon tree, which was ripe enough to harvest in the last week.  I had been on a search for a good recipe to use my single, special lemon, and this one fit the bill perfectly.  All that was wasted was the pith!  And of course I made these gluten-free.

Meyer Lemon Squares

Shortbread Crust:
1 c Pamela’s Gluten-Free Flour Mix
1/2 c powdered sugar
1/8 t salt
1/2 c cold butter, cut into pieces

Meyer Lemon Filling:
2 eggs
1 c sugar
2 T Pamela’s GF Flour
1/8 t salt
2 t lemon zest
1/4 c lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350F.  Line an 8″ square pan with parchment paper.

Add all crust ingredients to food processor.  Pulse until mixture is evenly integrated, and pieces are rice-sized.  Bake about 20 minutes, or until lightly browned.

While crust is baking, whisk together all filling ingredients until combined. Pour onto crust. Bake 15 minutes or until filling is just set.  Allow to cool completely, then sprinkle powdered sugar over top if desired.

The original recipe was obtained from AlpineBerry’s blog, which I found linked on another site, which I found on a Google search.  As an aside, my Meyer lemon produced 1/3 c juice and plenty of zest for this recipe, though I didn’t actually measure it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Just yesterday, my wife and I bought a dwarf Meyer Lemon tree. We will have to try this recipe when we start getting lemons. It sounds really good.

    Reply

    • Posted by artistaraquel on January 31, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      Thanks for your comment, and best wishes with your new tree! I got mine from Spring Hill and I’ve been very pleased with it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

