To ruffle or not to ruffle?

I finally got around to knitting one of the sleeve frills on my Alice (in Wonderland) Top tonight, but when I tried it on I was worried that it made me look like a linebacker. Any suggestions? The options are go with the frills / ruffles, change the existing one and finish the unfinished one with garter stitch edging (like the edging on the neckline) for the sleeves, or remove all the ruffles and do a garter stitch for all edges (hem included.) Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jess on June 8, 2010 at 9:14 am

    I like it both ways so I think it depends how you want to wear it. If you’ll be dressing it up and wearing it by itself, then with ruffles.
    If you’ll be dressing it down: with a t-shirt under it, with jeans, or with accessories like a scarf or chunky necklace, etc, then without sleeves.

    It’s super cute either way!

    Reply

  2. I vote ruffle. I don’t think it makes you look like a linebacker at all! I think any width that seems to be added there is clearly ruffle, and not broad shoulders. Plus, you could experiment with how it sits on your shoulder- maybe pull them out a little bit, so that the ruffle extends past your shoulder, and not trying to be flush with the very edge of your shoulder. That should emphasize the ruffle-y goodness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

