Boozy Mud Cake- Secret Recipe Revealed!

Tonight I decided to make my famous (ha) Boozy Mud Cake recipe as a thank-you for a friend.  Mostly so that I have a digital record of the recipe (instead of just the ingredient-stained paper I scribbled the recipes onto) and since almost no one reads this blog, I am posting my secret recipe below.

Boozy Mud Cake with Boozy Mud Glaze

Cake-

2 T instant coffee or espresso powder, dissolved in 1 1/2 c boiling water

6 oz chocolate chips

2 sticks butter, melted

2 c sugar, divided

2 eggs

6 T bourbon

2 c flour

1/2 t baking soda

1/8 t salt

Grease 9″ x 13″ x 2″ pan.  Preheat oven to 375° F.  Bring coffee to a boil in a medium saucepan, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat; add butter and stir with whisk until melted.  Add 1 c sugar and bourbon, and whisk till combined.

Beat eggs and remaining sugar in medium bowl for 1 minute till light ivory in hue.  Add chocolate mixture.  Add flour, baking soda, and salt and mix till smooth.  Bake exactly 30 minutes.

While cake is baking, prepare glaze.

Glaze-

3 T butter

3 T brown sugar

1 t instant coffee or espresso powder

3 T heavy cream

3/4 powdered sugar

1/4 c bourbon

Melt first 3 ingredients in pan on low heat.  Add cream; simmer 1 minute.  Remove from heat, slowly whisk in powdered sugar.  Whisk in bourbon.  Allow cake to cool slightly, then pour glaze over surface.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Well, I read your blog!! And I love chocolate and my husband is a chocolate cake freak, so thank you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kristen on April 13, 2010 at 8:50 am

    hey from colorado. your chickens are beautiful and look so happy! and your yard – oh my! you’ve done so much. it looks awesome & makes me miss northern virginia.

    Reply

  3. oooh, looks so, so good! I’m bookmarking this recipe right now!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Elvira on April 13, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Who-no ONE???I keep reading all the time 🙂
    there goes your secret….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

