Spring Break Projects

Last week was my spring break and I had lots of outdoor projects planned.  The first four days were cloudy and cold, and I was sure I wouldn’t get through my list.  However, after spending the remaining 4 days (not including Easter Sunday, since there were family obligations and thus no time for yard work) out in the sun for about 10 hours each day, Alex and I got through just about all of it!

We managed to complete the chicken run, which measures 15′ long x 4′ high x 5′ wide.  It is made of 1/2″ PVC pipes and matching corner joints, chicken wire (4′ wide and 3′ wide rolls) and zip ties.  In total it cost right around $50, it was relatively easy to make, and it’s pretty lightweight given its size.  The big girls certainly don’t prefer it to free range grazing in the back yard, but it allows them to stay “out” in the yard while we’re not at home instead of being cooped up in the little eglu run.

Since the eglu has been vacant except for at night with the nice weather, we have been putting the little girls in there while the big girls are out in the yard or in the new run.  They are still hard to catch from both their “sleep cage” in the sunroom and the eglu when it’s time to go back for the night, but they are a lot less freaked out when we’re carrying them from place to place.  I think they have the routine down and know that the eglu is great fun.

Today my first (of three or four) Spring Hill Nurseries shipments arrived while I was back at work, so when I got home I had quite a treat waiting.  I knew that this shipment would include my dwarf orange and lemon trees, a dwarf blueberry bush, and a wisteria vine.  The first 3 are all said to thrive in relatively small pots, and the latter will hopefully grow up the back house on the otherwise boring, empty brick facade.

There are lots of other things in the works for the “grounds” here so check back soon to see our progress!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Devona on April 22, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Nice! I came to check out your dwarf lemon tree. I think I might get one myself. Thanks!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Deepak on April 25, 2010 at 2:14 am

    Did you buy the citrus dwarfs as plants or did you end up getting the kit?

    Reply

    • Posted by artistaraquel on April 25, 2010 at 10:22 am

      I bought the citrus plants only without the kit, but from what I understand there is now a sale on these items. I also ordered a dwarf lime tree which has since arrived, and I am waiting on a pomegranate tree, a coffee tree, and a dwarf cherry bush to complete my patio orchard.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Rob on May 10, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    I have a dwarf banana and a coffee tree, I really want to get the lemon tree just don’t know where I would put it.

    Reply

    • Posted by artistaraquel on May 11, 2010 at 6:55 am

      The dwarf lemon I have is of the Meyer variety, which is supposed to be thin-skinned and uncharacteristically sweet. If you can find a spot for it, I highly recommend getting one! Mine is about to bloom again, and the blossoms are deliciously fragrant .

      Reply

  4. Posted by Janine on May 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Hello, I came to check out your dwarf lemon tree. I love the chicken pen. What a great idea. I’ve been thinking about getting the dwarf key lime, dwarf lemon and the coffee tree plant. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

