Christmas Gift Knitterings

Now that the gifts have been gifted and Christmas has come and gone, I can finally blog about the knitterings I made for the season.  These included the felted Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted napkin rings, coasters, and necklace for my aunt that I blogged about a while back, a purple Manos del Uruguay Cloud Bolero for my littlest sister Katherine, a blue Berocco Jasper Dizzy Hat for my other sister, a cell phone sock for my brother’s Motorola Karma, a Robin’s Egg Blue Hat in Vanna’s Choice Baby for my sister-in-law, some Soft Yarn Bike Helmet Earmuffs for my husband’s best friend, and a basic ribbed hat made from some slate Soy Wool Stripes for one of our roommates.

For this, I CO 22 sts and knit in st st until I ran out of yarn.  I put this through the washer for 2 cycles until it was felted nice and thick, which reduced the size of the rectangle from 6 1/4″ x 39″ before felting to 4 1/4″ x 31″ after felting.  I cut out four circles at 4 1/4″ across, then four strips 2″ x 4 1/4″ to make the napkin rings.  I used the remainder to make disc beads for a necklace.

The necklace is laced on goldtone nylon-coated jewelry wire, and the felted discs and ice blue Swarovski crystals are held in place with goldtone crimp beads.

Katherine’s Cloud Bolero was knit with about 1 1/2 skeins of a lovely lilac variegated Manos del Uruguay.  I found some plastic buttons that match quite nicely without distracting from the sweater at my new favorite LYS called Uniquities.  I need to get a photo of her wearing it- it looked perfect on her!

Mary’s Dizzy hat was also just right in terms of size, and she seemed to like it a lot.  I had just a few yards left of the skein of Jasper when I finished this hat.  This yarn is so soft and buttery!

Matt got a new cell phone recently but was using a cell phone sock I made for one of my sisters ages ago.  It had been purple and yellow striped, but after Matt got a hold of it, it turned a dirty brown gray.  His phone is a strangely-shaped Motorola Karma, so I made sure to knit the sock so the phone stays snugly inside.  Hopefully the color helps hide dirt!

Stephanie forgot to bring any decent winter outerwear home with her from North Carolina, and got home just in time for the most snow Virginia has seen in one day on record.  I couldn’t knit her a coat to help her out but I thought a hat would help somewhat.  It’s knit with just a few yards under 1 ball of Vanna’s Choice Baby in color Goldfish held doubled.

Joe’s helmet ear muffs were made with about 1/2 a ball of Red Heart Soft Yarn.  I usually hate those cheap acrylics but I love Soft Yarn and have made a ton of hats with it.  Joe tried this on and it seemed like it’ll definitely keep his ears warm while he’s cycling around!

Jesse’s hat was knit with less than a ball of Soy Wool Stripes in color Slate.  I CO 92 sts, knit in K2 P2 ribbing for about 2,” then knit in st st until 6″ long.  Then I did a hat decrease I’d never used (or seen in a pattern before) by knitting 20 sts, sl 1, k2tog, psso, till the end of the row, then doing the same decrease every row when I got to one st before the decrease in the row before.  It makes a slightly flat top, but this guy has a pretty big head so I think it’ll fit pretty well!  I like how the decreases look… a little something different.  I wrapped this hat in boxes I made with scrapbook paper and an origami technique.

Finally, for myself I knit something I’m calling a scarflace- a cross between a necklace and a scarf.  It has a bit of cowl going on as well, maybe it’s a scowlace?  Hmm.  The pattern is called sev[en]circle, and it’s pretty ingenious.  It was a simple knit that was relatively quick, but tedious in that for every loop, you have to CO and BO over 100 sts with only 10 rows of st st in between.  The end result is luxurious, funky, unique, and warm.  I knit this with one ball of KnitPicks Swish Worsted in Copper and a little less than a ball of Swish DK in Cinnamon.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by thechickendance on December 27, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Ryan says Joe’s earmuffs look like a sweater for a snake. Haha! You have certainly been productive! Well done, you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

