Presto Chango Baby Sweater

Our friends Louise and JP (who live in London but are Danish and Dutch, respectively) just had their first baby, a little girl named Caya.  I have been hoping for the opportunity to knit items for baby girls, so I jumped on this one!  I have had the pattern for the Presto Chango sweater in my Ravelry queue for ages now, and after knitting it, I highly recommend it for any knitting skill level.  It is simple and quick, but with the buttoning front panel, you can go wild by making multiples to change out (in case the one the kid is wearing gets messy) in various stitch, lace, or cable patterns.  So far I’ve made just two, and am making a little seed stitch bordered hat to match (see Robin’s Egg Blue Hat.)  I have yet to buy buttons for the set, but when I do I’ll post an updated picture of the final product.

 

I knit this with Vanna’s Choice Baby in colorway Goldfish, which is a kind of salmon (arctic char?) pinky-orange.  It looks girly without being blatantly, predictably PINK.  My only other experience with Vanna’s Choice was the original version, which was not as soft and caught on your hands while you knit.  Her baby yarn, on the other hand, is quite soft and squishy, and machine washable.  The sweater took up almost an entire ball of Vanna’s Choice Baby (maybe 10 yards left?) before I knit any front panels, so I would recommend 2 balls if you use this yarn, with which you’d have plenty to make multiple front panels, a hat, booties… and make a great set for under $10.

Leave a Reply

