Scherenschnitte Beginnings

Today an old friend, who is a rather prolific artist on the side, made me feel pretty pathetic about my lack of art creation in the past few years.  Scherenschnitte, the art of paper cutting, is something that has interested me for a while now, but it kept getting pushed aside for other hobbies or mundane tasks with which I was better acquainted.  But today, I decided to finally try my hand at it, and am excited to do more.  I only had one partial sheet of black origami paper (which is, from what I’ve read, one of the best types of paper to use) so now I need to go to the local art supply store in search of more!

Check out my first foray into scherenschnitte below.  It measures about 4″ x 8″.

IMGP0986

…and this is my 2nd.  It measures about 4″ x 4″.

IMGP0990

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elvira on November 15, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Neat!And I love you r 16 week old chickens :-0

    Reply

Leave a Reply

