Felted Entertaining Set & Leftovers Jewelry

I decided to make a set of felted coasters and napkin rings as a Christmas gift (hopefully the recipient doesn’t read my blog!) with a skein of Lamb’s Pride Bulky in a variegated blues colorway.  I cast on 22 stitches and knit in stockingnette stitch on size 10 1/2 needles until I ran out of yarn, then felted the resulting 6 1/2″ x 39″ rectangle by running it through 2 cycles in the washer until it was nice and dense, and felted down to 4 1/2″ x 31.”  I then cut 4 circles (4 1/2″ diameter) out of the felt, as well as 4 strips measuring 2″ x 4 1/2″ each.  I turned these into napkin rings by sewing the 2 short ends together with upholstery thread, then flipping then right side out so the stitches were on the inside.  At the end of the process, I had some rounded triangles left from cutting the corners off to make circles.  I cut discs out of these triangles, added some ice blue Swarovski crystals, and ended up with a funky necklace.  (I have enough discs left to make a matching bracelet.)  I have not yet added a closure to the necklace- I want to find something interesting.  Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

