Recycling storebought sweaters

Tailored Scallops

Tailored Scallops

Sometime around the turn of the century I bought some rather plain, 100% wool sweaters in a size too large for me from American Eagle’s clearance rack.  I have worn them only a handful of times when the large size is useful on top of several layers, and I decided that I’d make them into something more useful.  The large size is a plus in this case, as bigger sweater = more yarn!

This past week I’ve been working on knitting up the yarn from the pinky-mauve sweater I frogged into a tailored lace blazer from the knitting pattern book Lace Style. So far, so good!  The body is blocking now, and I have just started knitting the sleeves.  Hopefully it turns out the way I envision!

2 responses to this post.

  1. This is so clever! This will look just great.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thechickendance on September 17, 2009 at 1:20 am

    can i have it when you’re done? =) Or is it for Alex? Ruth? Okay, fine, you can have it. See you Friday! Hope those ‘coons don’t come back to haunt me tonight.

    Is the above comment from a STRANGER? (gasp! excitement! someone else is reading your fabulous blog!) 😉

    xoxojojo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

